Palacký University has elected a new Academic Senate

Photo: Vojtěch Duda
Tuesday 26 May 2020, 18:18 – Text: (red)

The historic first online elections have resulted in the new UP Academic Senate for the 2020–2023 term. The elections took place on May 19–25 via the Internet due to the coronavirus epidemic and related restrictions.

An interim report on the course and results of the elections is available here. "Pursuant to Article 10 of the Election Rules of the UP Academic Senate, each member of the academic community may submit a written complaint about the conduct of the election to the main election commission no later than two working days from the date of publication of the election results. Complaints can be submitted to my e-mail address – – or to me in person at the Department of Pharmacology, UP Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, no later than midnight May 28, 2020. Any complaints and comments will be subsequently dealt with by the election commission, and the final results of the elections and the composition of the new senate will be published on UP’s Official Notice Board,” said Jan Strojil, the chairman of the main election commission.

The UP Academic Senate is a self-governing representative body comprised of 24 members. Each faculty is represented by two senators from the ranks of academics and one from the ranks of students. The candidates who receive the highest number of votes at each faculty become senators.

UP Academic Senate members 2020–2023:

– academic workers:
Smolová Irena, Faculty of Science
Botur Michal, Faculty of Science
Procházka Vít, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Ehrmann Jiří, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Aláčová Gaul Petra, Faculty of Health Sciences
Merz Lukáš, Faculty of Health Sciences
Šucha Matúš, Faculty of Arts
Lebeda Tomáš, Faculty of Arts
Malacka Michal, Faculty of Law
Tomoszková Veronika, Faculty of Law
Cajthaml Martin, Sts Cyril and Methodius Faculty of Theology
Menke Monika, Sts Cyril and Methodius Faculty of Theology
Langer Jiří, Faculty of Education
Vitásková Kateřina, Faculty of Education
Formánková Soňa, Faculty of Physical Culture
Bělka Jan, Faculty of Physical Culture

– students:
Stejskal Aleš, Faculty of Science
Juriš Erik, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Marková Tereza, Faculty of Health Sciences
Nguyen Michal, Faculty of Arts
Stratilík Marek, Faculty of Law
Janoušek Lukáš, Sts Cyril and Methodius Faculty of Theology
Voráč Dominik, Faculty of Education
Murinová Lenka, Faculty of Physical Culture